Black Ops 3 multiplayer, WTF?

I must admit that the Blacks Ops 3 multiplayer reveal trailer didn't really impress me, oh sure it looks like fun but in fact it's just insane fast action where half of the time you hardly see what's going on. Maybe that's how multiplayer is now, fast and chaotic. But I can't say that I like it.


It's better to steal a good idea?


One of the first things that really popped out was the wall running, this makes the combat faster and a bit less predictable but at the same time it feels like they took it straight out of Titanfall. Not that there is anything wrong with taking something good from a game to improve your own game but I don't know if CoD really needs it. I'm glad that the exo suits are gone, I really don't like the look of those things and no matter how cool your character looks you still wear that ridiculous exo skeleton. But you do seem to be more mobile than before, perhaps no insane exo jumps but you definitely have more freedom in movement than before.


So what else is new?


Once again you can play as a female character in multiplayer, which isn't a surprise since this was the case in Ghosts and Advanced Warfare took that over as well so it was quite obvious that Black Ops 3 would do the same. But what is interesting is that you can also create a robot character, no not a human with metal parts in it but a 100% metal construction that walks and shoots just like the rest. In Advanced Warfare you already had the swimming part but now you can also have underwater battles as you can shoot eachother underwater. That's pretty cool and hopefully doesn't create underwater campers. I also saw some new technology that you can use in the field, for example some type of teleporter that put the character behind an enemy. But also the movement speed is increased and you can quickly move over obstacles making it less of an obstacle and more of a pebble on the road.


Is it worth checking out?


It looks cool, but I don't know if it's the type of multiplayer I'd like to play. I'll probably try it out and see for myself but I must admit that for the first time in quite some years I'm not that excited about the multiplayer in a CoD game. Sure it looks cool but it doesn't blow me away, there wasn't something that made me super excited about the game. Maybe that's also because of some of the other games I saw, it's difficult to be impressed by one game when other games just blew your mind. I'm certain that there will be a lot of CoD fans that will get Black Ops 3 so you don't have to worry that there won't be any people in multiplayer and now you can also play together in the campaign (4 player co-op) so that will also attract several players. But let's not forget about zombie mode, this is probably what made the Black Ops games very popular. So is it worth checking out? I'd say yes, but Black Ops 3 isn't in my top 5 games that I want to get this year. Maybe it is for you but not for me.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?