Sinful Sunday: Banned for life in a game

It seems a bit silly but this actually happens in some games, people that are banned for life because they did something that was not accepted. In most cases that means cheating, this is something that isn´t accepted and if you get catch you pulling that type of shit then you´re done for! But is it always just to ban someone for life?


When it comes to cheating or offensive behaviour then I can definitely understand that people are banned for life, nobody wants to play with or against cheaters and the same counts for people that say hurtful things just because they think it´s funny. I do think that it´s important that you warn someone first, give them a chance to stop or else they´re banned. It wouldn´t surprise me that a lot of people wouldn´t take that seriously and just continue what they did but at least you gave them a choice and if they kept being assholes then you can punish them for that. That seems fair to me and anyone that complains after that isn´t even worth listening to.


But is it always just to ban someone? I think there are sometimes situations that require a closer look, for example when someone says some offensive things then you might want to find out why someone did that. Was he or she provoked? Was there tension in a match and that lead to a negative outburst? These are situations where a ban for life is a bit extreme because we all have moments that we´re not at our best, we sometimes say or do stupid things and to get banned for life seems a bit extreme. Of course it shouldn´t be tolerated when people say hurtful things but judgement should be fair and not just all lead to one outcome.


Let´s not forget that sometimes the account of someone is hacked and then the hacker does stupid things with that account to get it banned, but also a friend or family member can play on someones account and do something stupid. It would be harsh to ban that person for life, at the same time it would be difficult to find out if that person is telling the truth. Which is probably why a lot of people are just shit out of luck when it comes to these situations. It´s also why a lot of people will warn you not to let others play on your account, just to prevent any unpleasant situations.


People that really want to be assholes will find new ways to annoy others online, I doubt you could ever fix that but those that made a mistake and get punished will have a hard time not being able to play on their account. Sure you could create a new one but if you invested a lot of time on your old account then it´s a shame that you lost all of that because you made a mistake. I guess in the world of games things aren´t always fair and pleasant. Which is why I advice you to protect your account and if you feel like you´re in a bad mood you might not want to play online multiplayer, just to keep it safe.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?