Why bother putting achievements/trophies in games?

There aren´t that many people that actually hate achievements/trophies but I´ve heard some of them talk about the point of achievements/trophies, it´s easy to say that it´s fun to collect them or to keep a game longer alive as some people try to get as many of them as they can but I don´t know if that counts for everyone. You see not everyone is happy with achievements/trophies, I know that I have moments where I hate a certain type of achievement that is put in the game just to annoy you. Of course you can ignore that achievement (or trophy) but that would mean you let that annoying asshole win, never!


When I play a game for the first time I´ll look at the achievements and try to get as many when I try to beat the game for the first time, depending how much fun the game is and if I´m confident enough that I can get more achievements I´ll go for a higher difficulty or just try to reach the places where I can get more achievements. It´s maybe not the most fun way to play a game but usually a good way to get achievements. But then you might think, isn´t it more important to have fun than to collect achievements/trophies? You´re right, it is more important and I sometimes hate myself to make certain achievements an obsession. But I probably only would have half the total score I have now if I would play only for fun, sometimes you also want to play to get some achievements and boost your score a bit. Maybe it´s not the most fun but in the end it´s nice to see that you actually managed to get some more achievements and that does give me a good feeling.


Unfortunately some achievements/trophies are annoying, for example those that are tied to a certain number of collectibles or finishing the game on a ridiculous high difficulty. These are things you´d probably never do if there wasn´t an achievement/trophy tied to that but if you want to get that achievement/trophy then you´ll have to collect all collectibles (in most games at least) and beat the game on the highest difficulty. I see how these could be considered as achievements but at the same time I´m annoyed how some developers are lazy when it comes to making some fun achievements, it doesn´t always have to be about skill (eventhough getting collectibles usually doesn´t require any skills) but it could be about doing something silly (for example breakdancing with your character in a nightclub in Max Payne 3 multiplayer) or something to help you discover new tricks to beat enemies (for example introducing new moves or weapons). That´s still worth an achievement or trophy!


The worst type of achievements/trophies are the secret ones, then you don´t know what to do and if it´s one you can easilly miss then you´re even more screwed, somehow developers will never learn because I still see them in games and it sucks when you´re completely left in the dark with that. Usually that requires going online and hoping that someone else has figured out what to do, unfortunately that sometimes takes some time and that´s a real shame! Even when you get it other people can´t see that or else they´ll know what to do how to get it, so it even beats the point of getting it unless it´s purely for your own personal glory (for whatever that might be worth to you). So I don´t mind achievements/trophies in games, just don´t make them a secret because that´s just stupid and doesn´t serve any function unless annoying gamers is the main reason to put it in the game.

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?