Letting someone win in a game

It seems so innocent, letting someone win in a game. Maybe you have a kid, your boyfriend or girlfriend, a younger brother or sister and you just want to be nice. But is it really a good thing to let them win? Let´s take a closer look at this kind gesture!


My father never let me win and when I got good enough with chess to beat him he refused to play against me anymore, of course that´s not fair but that´s how it went for me. Of course I did beat him with other games, but the fact is that he never let me win and that pushed me to do better. Something I still value this day, because if people give you a victory then it´s not earned and it feels empty. Maybe a kid doesn´t see it that way but it takes the beauty of the victory away and can even ruin a nice memory.


So you have to be an asshole? I´m not saying that, you don´t have to crush them and then make fun of them, that´s being an asshole. But you can tell them what they did wrong and motivate them to do better, this way they´ll be more stimulated to beat you next time and actually try different tactics to beat you. Maybe you think that this is ridiculous but a lot of kids would love to beat their parents in a game, a younger sibling feels the same about beating an older sibling and I know that sometimes your partner wants to beat you with a game especially if you keep teasing them that you beat them.


I´m not saying that it´s a terrible thing to let someone win in a game, that of course up to you if you want to do that or not. I´m just saying that it might be a good idea to motivate someone to actually beat you instead of letting them beat you. It´s great if you don´t care and letting the other think he or she actually beats you, but I don´t think they learn much from that and life is hardly ever that kind to give you things just like that. Maybe that´s going too deep, games are meant to be fun and as long as you´re both having fun then I guess it doesn´t really matter. But life is about winning and losing, you can´t win all the time and losing is as much part of life as winning. Well I´ll leave it at that, if I´m being more spiritual I feel like I could float away!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?