Sinful Sunday: It´s all about me!

This actually makes sense when you play a single player game, you´re the star in the game and it is all about you. Especially when you play as the hero in the game then it´s up to you to save someone or the world. But in multiplayer games you´re just one of many players in the game that probably tries to do the exact same thing as you, unfortunately some people can´t let go of the single player idea that it´s all about them. This sometimes leads to unpleasant confrontations between people in a game.


What´s mine is mine, what´s yours is mine as well? It makes sense that you want to level up and make progress in a game as fast as possible, but it´s not nice if you do this at the cost of other players. Because you might have a great time but you´ll ruin the fun for someone else. If this is in PvP then this makes sense, but in a PvE setting this is a douchebag move. Especially in MMORPGs you see a lot of people being selfish bastards, trying to steal kills or items just so they can make it further and the other can spend more time doing the exact same thing.


But there aren´t rules in these games about that, are there? Not really, I mean as long as you don´t cheat and be agressive then nobody can really do something about it. There isn´t a rule against being an asshole, but I don´t think you´ll make many friends this way and those might come in handy later in the game when you want to do a raid or something simular like that! I believe in rules of decency, which means if I see someone fighting a group of enemies I don´t dive in to steal kills or when someone fights a boss for a quest I´m not going to quickly try to steal that kill because I have to do the same thing. A decent player would find another group to fight or wait until the boss spawns again. The problem is that there are a lot of douchebags in games that can´t wait and they´re often too lazy to look further than what they can see at that moment, which often leads to a clash with another player.


I guess this is the risk of playing with other people online, especially with strangers you never know what you get and it will more times than not turn out to be someone less friendly. Because in this time and age we´re selfish, we take what we can and don´t look back! That doesn´t mean I want to play like that, sure if someone is being an asshole then I can be an asshole too but I prefer just to have fun and get things done. I´m not saying that I´m perfect, hell no! But with a bit more decency and patience there would be less frustration and more people would have fun. It´s just a shame that this will never happen...

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?