It's a good time to be a gamer?

About twenty years ago you probably wouldn't say out loud that you're a gamer, most of your friends probably weren't into playing games (for as far as you know) and it wasn't considered as cool to play games. That doesn't mean that games were crap, but when you look at games today you see amazing titles that just blow you away. On top of that it's cool to play games and people don't hide this hobby anymore, actually it goes so far that people that don't play games are considered as the losers. It's strange how some things change...


Does it matter what others think?


Let me first say that I never cared what others thought of my hobby, I like playing games and it never stopped me from revealing that or playing games. But I can understand that some people would be more reluctant to share this information with others, especially if you didn't know how they feel about playing games. To earn a reputation could take years and you can lose it in seconds, so it's not a surprise that some people are careful with sharing certain things. Even people that don't really care what others think won't just say everything, sometimes you have to earn someones trust. But you shouldn't let the opinions of others keep you from doing what you like, it's your life so you decide what you do with it!


It's easier to play games now?


Well that depends, because the prices are higher and if you don't have that much money to spend then it can be difficult to get new games or a new console. But you do get a lot of choice, there are several consoles you can buy and each console has a lot of games for you to choose from. Then there's also the PC that gives you acces to almost unlimited possibilities, wether you like to be creative with mods or even go so far as design your own games. The technology is there, do you have the skill and the will to make it happen?


Are things better now for a gamer?


I don't know, I think certain things haven't improved so much. Sure you can go online and there's a good chance you'll always find someone to play games with. But I don't think that beats playing games with friends on your couch, I mean that was for me a lot of fun and I miss that. Of course I can invite friends over but somehow it doesn't really feel the same, most games are designed that you play online with eachother and splitscreen is slowly disappearing. I think people have also gotten less social, which is surprising with all the ways we can communicate now, and sometimes people are even hostile to others over nothing. Hopefully that will be better in the future, that you find like minded people and have fun playing games together. There's always room for improvement and I don't think we're done, so hopefully things will be even better in the next twenty years!



Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?