Survive at all costs!

When I look at some of the survival horror games I´ve played and seen lately then it´s safe to say that we´ve stepped out of the mansion (Resident Evil) and entered a big world where you need to use everything you can to survive. But is this to prepare us for something or is this just what gamers want?


I´m a fan of survival horror games, games like Resident Evil and Silent Hill are probably one of my favourite games. But in those games it was simple, you get some weapons and you have to make it to the end of the game by using these weapons wisely and you have to know when to run. I think Dead Rising changed that by putting a lot of different items in the game that you can use as weapons or can combine to make stronger weapons, but what really made it different for me is that these weapons only stay good for a limited time. That means that you constantly look for new weapons and try to make better weapons to survive. Of course you had the gun crafting in Resident Evil 3, which was nice but I don´t think it´s as good as it is in the Dead Rising games. Later you also got Dead Island where you could also use a lot of items as weapons and craft something good or bad. Because you also have a level up system in Dead Island you constantly had to get better weapons because a low level weapon can´t kill a high level enemy that quickly. Also the rpg elements of spending point to increase or learn new abilities is interesting. It gives you the choice to be the person you want to be in the game, if you go for the sneaky kills or the come get some mofo tank type.


In games like Dead Rising and also Dead Island it´s all about how creative you are, of course if you find an extremely useful weapon then that doesn´t take much creativity but can you make a trap for a group of zombies or work well with others to take down a bigger enemy? You might not realize it but in a way you learn from that, now I´m not saying that you´re secretly being trained to survive a zombie apocalypse (just thinking of that actually makes me laugh) but it doesn´t hurt to know what to do when you´re in an uncomfortable situation. I know a lot of people talk tough with their sitting in their house with years of supplies and all the guns they can dream of but is that really the best way to survive an apocalypse? Also why are so many people convinced that there is going to be an apocalypse? Wether you´re religious or not, I´d say a lot of people seem to think that it will all end pretty bad for the human race. Well I don´t really care, as long as there are games to play and fun to play those games then I´m ok!

Reacties

Populaire posts van deze blog

Button bashing

Movie Monday: Mr & Mrs Smith

Sinful Sunday: Why are you so serious?